Is it time to start buying tinned food and candles?

I’ll admit right now that I don’t know the first thing about stocks and shares or boom and bust. I’d quite like my bank to go bust if it means they won’t be chasing me about my overdraft anymore. The credit crunch hasn’t affected me at all yet, as I live on benefits and don’t own my own home. If anything, I’m hoping the increasing unemployment figures will prevent the government from continuing its attack on those of us who claim Incapacity Benefit. But even in my insular world, I haven’t failed to notice that something is happening out there and that it could be bad. I’ve only got to use the tag surfer, where most of the posts about depression have more to do with the world of finance than mental illness, to know that people are worried about this.

It seems crazy to me, as a crazy person lol, that life as we know it can be so affected by a group of sweaty, overpaid men, shouting and waving their arms about in various rooms across the world. It’s hard to have sympathy for someone who earns millions in bonuses every year, especially as they’ll still come out of this mess with significantly more money than the rest of us.

Think I might nip down to Lloyds TSB in the morning and withdraw the rest of my benefit. Just in case. And when the looting starts I’m going to treat myself to some goodies from M&S as opposed to my usual Netto shop lol.

3 Responses to “Is it time to start buying tinned food and candles?”

  1. Alison Says:

    I like that post, I was in a taxi a few weeks ago and the woman driver was going on and on about how this current financial crisis would get worse before it got better and we’d soon be reading a lot about people taking there own lives because of it… I didn’t pay much attention to her at the time but she had a point.

    Like you I am not affected by it but realised the increased cost in food over the past couple of months means beans on toast has become a regular occurrence in my house!

  2. bippidee Says:

    yes the food has definately gone up in price, and as a compulsive eater, that’s bad news for me lol.

  3. Alison Says:

    … and me!

Leave a Reply

