Political correctness gone mad – or should that be gone mentally challenged?

Now I know I posted a few weeks ago about my anger at discriminatory terms still being used to describe us nutters, but the folks over at Manchester Student Union really do appear to be quite barking at the moment. They’ve decided to de-genderise all their toilets, for the sake of an undisclosed number of transgender students, who might be insulted by the terms ”women” and ”men” or their corresponding stick figures. From now on, all toilets will have either ”toilet” or ”toilet with urinal” signs, which is probably a good thing for the female student population, who will be able to avoid the queues and nip into the mens from now on.

However, the reason for posting this link is less to do with the rights of transgendered students (or emo’s) and more to do with the hilarious quote from the wannabee grotbags woman’s officer (you’ll see what i mean) at the end of the tape. Apparantly we are no longer permitted to use the term ”Political correctness gone mad” for fear of insulting mad people. So I ask my mad friends out here in cyber space, are you offended? Or, like me, are you still laughing too hard at the video to string a coherent sentence together. 🙂

Oh to be a student again. here’s the link: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/manchester/7643175.stm

5 Responses to “Political correctness gone mad – or should that be gone mentally challenged?”

  1. Madsadgirl Says:

    She needs to get a life.

  2. Immi Says:

    Laughing too hard here. 🙂

  3. Alison Says:

    I have to admit I laughed at that, I had to check it was not April 1st and that I’d not slept through!

  4. J. Wibble Says:

    I think you’re showing some ignorance of the issues facing trans people. It’s not that we’re offended by male and female toilets, it’s that we want to be able to go to the loo without getting beaten up, shouted at, harassed by security, removed from the premises or any other number of things which can and do happen to trans people on a regular basis when they try to use a public toilet. I have nothing against gendered toilets, I just want to be able to go to the loo without being harassed and threatened – think of it as an accessibility issue, like with disabled toilets. It’s nothing to do with political correctness and everything to do with personal safety.

    I hope I haven’t come across as angry, it’s just that I hear this sort of thing a lot from non-trans people who have no idea how much stress and fear the whole toilets thing causes for trans people.

  5. bippidee Says:

    hey there,
    no you don’t come across as angry. i appreciate your comments and hope i didn’t hurt your feelings too much. i was focusing more on the student’s remark about ‘pc gone mad’ being a discriminatory term really. I must admit though, that it makes more sense to me that people use the disabled toilet if they feel uncomfortable (for whatever reason) using either male or female loos. Perhaps though, that would offend transgendered people with the inference that they are disabled. I think the situation at man uni has been handled badly though. i know that as a female i would feel uncomfortable if men used the same toilets as me, and i’m not talking about transgendered men/women here. But degenderising the loos allows this to happen.

Leave a Reply

