Food always comes first

I am sat here in this midden of a flat, surrounded by overflowing ash trays, empty diet coke cans, unwashed plates, dirty clothes. I should be cleaning up.

At least thirty unopened letters litter the hall floor. I should be paying my bills.

My dad goes into hospital today. I should be thinking of him.

My hair is greasy and my nails are filthy. I should be having a shower.

My curtains are closed, blocking out the sun. I should be going out for a walk.

My houseplants are dying. I should water them.

But all I can think of is that Ben and Jerries icecream is on sale at £2 at my local supermarket, and I must get there before it closes, so I can binge today.  I did the same yesterday. I will do the same tomorrow, knowing that a binge will help me sleep away the rest of the day, so then I can ignore all the things I should be doing.

5 Responses to “Food always comes first”

  1. Alison Says:

    I know which supermarket you mean, I stocked up as well… I can’t think of anything sensible to say right now my brain is not functioning as it should. Take care Alison x

  2. Lola Snow Says:

    sorry to hear that you’re feeling crap. theres not much i can say either, other that let yourself enjoy the icecream. if you are going to binge, then at least don’t beat yourself up about it
    Lola x

  3. theveryhungrycaterpillarisbulimic Says:

    i relate to you so so much its crazy. i love this post. maybe i shouldnt as its not a situation to aspire to, but its one which i recognise with sad familiarity, and one which takes a very, very brave person to share. so thankyou for sharing.

    the very hungry caterpillar
    xx

  4. Lola Snow Says:

    Hi Bip

    You’ve gone quiet. Are you ok(ish)

    Lola x

  5. อาหารเช้าง่ายๆ Says:

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason seemed to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get irked while people think about
    worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top
    and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects ,
    people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

