Swimming through quetiapine flavoured treacle

I’m beginning to question whether being on an anti psychotic is a good thing. That’s not uncommon with me as I tend to stop taking pills shortly after they start to work, but in the past they’ve only been an anti depressant.

I feel so much calmer these days, but am I calm or sedated? I realised lately that the majority of my days follow the same routine now. Wake up after midday. Transfer to the sofa. Take pill. Sleep for another hour. Get up and go to the supermarket for carb laden food. Come home, eat, watch tv, talk to friends online, go to sleep for 14 hours. The only change from pre Quetiapine days is that I sleep a lot longer than I used to, and that my inactivity doesn’t really bother me. That window during the day when I can do things and meet people has narrowed considerably due to the drowsiness. If I have something major planned, like the Rethink event last week, I have to skip my pills for 24 hours. But, and it’s a big but, I haven’t had an urge to self harm for ages and I don’t obsess about suicide every day. I suppose I have to weigh up the pro’s and cons and should probably stay on the pills at least until the winter is over. They are the reason that I haven’t been posting as often though.

I mentioned the Rethink agm. What a lovely bunch of people! And another indication of how much anti psychotics are helping, because without them I wouldn’t have got on a train and gone to a meeting in a big posh hotel on my own. Rethink, for those who don’t know, is a leading mental health charity which campaigns against stigma and for the rights of people with serious mental illness. (They think I qualify as a borderline even if my pdoc doesn’t). I travelled there on my own but with the intention of meeting Charlie and Ellen, two lovely internet based friends. It was a rather surreal experience, stood in a foyer amongst a crowd of people, trying to find two friends whom I’d never seen in person before. But we got on like a house on fire, even if Charlie did drag me off to the bar for a drink and a gossip (I took loads of persuading lol), thus making us miss one of the seminars. I had such a good day and I can’t tell you how cool it was to be around people like me and to see us all doing something positive together. I was proud to be mental!

Now back down to earth again and a quick update on my Dad. Alison, thanks for asking how he was getting on. It turns out that his cancer isn’t kidney cancer as suspected, but something called transitional cell carcinoma of the ureter. He had his kidney removed, which contained an aggressive tumour. His lymph nodes were also malignant, so he’ll start chemo in January. Fortunately he can do this as an outpatient so at least he won’t be stuck in hospital again. At the moment my stepmum is concentrating on feeding him up before he starts the treatment. He lost a huge amount of weight after the op because he didn’t eat for nearly two weeks afterwards, and felt nauseous for a long time after. I’ll pop over again next week to see him and we talk on the phone quite a lot. I hate this so much though. It feels like the cancer has a grip over us all. As a family our lives are now governed by distinct stages. Diagnosis, Op, Recovery, Chemo etc. How can I feel positive about a treatment which essentially poisons the body? It feels like a temporary break now over christmas until we start the next chapter. But at the same time, I am a bystander. I can’t possibly understand what it’s like to be Dad right now. He’s so positive about it all and just calmly accepts each stage of the journey. I’m the one who is angry and wants to hit out at someone, even him. Fortunately I am only on the periphery of it all. I really feel for my stepmum who has to be supportive 24/7. On a positive note though, I am so much closer to her as a result of all this.

So that’s what’s happening with me at the moment. Oh and something I’m loathe to put down here because it makes it real. The engineers are coming to look at my heating on 5th December. That means I have to open the front door and let someone into my house. Probably two people because they always bring a spotty, lank haired trainee with them. I’m trying to be positive about this. I’ll have hot water and heating for the first time in two years. But there’s a LOT of cleaning to be done in this midden between now and then. Wish me luck!

5 Responses to “Swimming through quetiapine flavoured treacle”

  1. Lola Snow Says:

    Wow! Rethink sounds like an awesome day out, it’s great that you had a good time. I did think of how you got on.

    Glad to hear that your Dad is coping ok, and although its a horrible situation it seems you are all coping as well as you can do. I can’t begin to imagine how hard it is for you, you always write as if you don’t deserve to be feeling upset about it, which i can understand, but at the same time Bip, it really is ok to be feeling like you are. It’s completely normal.

    Oh, and fantastic news that you have heating on the way, i’ve got my fingers crossed for you!

    Lola x

  2. Alison Says:

    Thank you for the update on your Dad, you can’t begin to understand how much your honesty means to me right now… I’ll keep him in my thoughts and also you. I can really sympathise with how you are feeling and what you are going through right now.

    Good luck with the cleaning, I’ll come and do it for you, I just cannot sit still right now…

    Alison
    x

  3. intothesystem Says:

    I know how you feel about the quetiapine. Just feel like my head is full of wool a lot of the time these days.

    p.s. just found you via a tag search for borderline personality disorder, but then realised your blogroll is virtually the same as mine!

  4. Lola Snow Says:

    Hey Bip, just checking in for your weekly welfare check! Hope things are ok, or as OK as they can be.
    Thinking of you

    Lola x

  5. bippidee Says:

    cheers hon. you’re like my weekly alarm clock which reminds me to make a new post lol. hope you’re ok xx

Leave a Reply

