Trying to see the GP

My local surgery looks amazing. It moved out of the old, rather squalid and prone to flooding terraced house and into a superduper purpose built surgery last year. There’s a nice big waiting room, plasma tv showing Jeremy Kyle, and a special screen to book yourself in without having to annoy the receptionists. There are 9 gp’s in the practice, along with three nurses and several care assistants. They even have a new agey type bloke come in to do alternative health sessions. Fantastic! But if you want to get an appointment you’ll have to join the queue on the phone at 8am.

Now, on one side, releasing appointments on the day is a great idea. No more having to wait five days to see a doctor when you’re dying of flu. But ask anyone on anti psychotics what they are doing at 8am and they’ll tell you they are either fast asleep in a pool of drool or trying to do a runner from A&E before the on call pdoc finishes his breakfast and arrives to section them. The last thing they will be doing is ringing their gp.

But what about reasonable adjustments I hear you cry? Or perhaps not if you’ve never heard of them. Well, Gp surgeries are supposed to offer these adjustments to any patient with a disability. That means that, where possible, they provide a quiet place to sit and wait, an understanding that talking to yourself doesn’t mean you’re about to stab the receptionist, and flexibility when it comes to making appointments.

Unfortunately the computer at my surgery says no. So it looks like I’ll be staying up all night on Thursday in order to see my own doctor the next morning. He only works Friday at my local surgery and I’m really not up to making two bus journeys to find him at the other one. He is insistant that I see him rather than another doc, and this is the last chance I’ll have for a chat before Xmas, a stressful time for me. So this week I shall be going to see him armed with a booklet from Rethink, entitled Reasonable Adjustments and your local gp surgery. Perhaps between us we can persuade that computer to be nicer to me in future.

4 Responses to “Trying to see the GP”

  1. Lola Snow Says:

    Good luck Bip, I hope it goes OK, and that they take your point on board. There is little point in having those sorts of guidelines if no one impliments them!

    Take Care

    Lola x

  2. Alison Says:

    Good luck I hope you get your appointment…

  3. Alison Says:

    I was also going to say (but I hit the enter button to quick…) those super clinics are opening here. My friends GP surgery is moving to one in the New Year, it about the size of the local hospital, it actually looks bigger and rather scary… thankfully my surgery is staying where it is and not moving anywhere… well for now it ain’t!

  4. Mental Nurse · This Week in Mentalists (59) Says:

    […] From the Sofa points out that “reasonable adjustment” applies to mental health problems too. But what about reasonable adjustments I hear you cry? Or perhaps not if you’ve never heard of […]

Leave a Reply

