Happy New Year

Happy New Year to whichever drone at the DWP thought it would help to send me an IB50 form on the last day of 2008. What a great way to end the year. However, I am determined not to fall into the trap of reflecting on what has gone wrong in the last 12 months. If I did I’d be spending the chimes of midnight on a railway line with a bottle of vodka, whilst listening to leonard cohen on my I-pod.  Actually, that might be ok. Don’t the trains stop running early tonight? So, instead, here’s my list of what went well for me in 2008.

I started a blog! And more amazingly, I kept going with it. Thanks mostly to the occasional reminder from Lola to enquire where I am. Lola you are the Mr Motivator of wordpress. Thankyou xx

I didn’t stab any neighbours, push any old ladies over at Sainsburys, or take my clothes off and run down the high street. Those were all bad thoughts, not reality. However, I regard the thoughts about firebombing my local PC World as a failed opportunity.

I singlehandedly protected my local retail park from the economic slowdown.

I did the same for Ben and Jerries icecream.

And Pizza Hut.

I kept up with my friendships and maintained a close relationship with my Dad, despite the urge to hide in the house and wrap the phone in tinfoil.

I stopped watching Eastenders and within days was able to lower my dose of anti depressants.

I limited my online forum arguments to one per week, and got away with just one temporary suspension and no permanent bans!

On a more serious note, I survived the year. I didn’t become another statistic. And that’s something that all of us who live day to day with mental illness should congratulate ourselves on acheiving. Well done us!  May we continue into 2009, driving our GP’s up the wall, giving our CPN’s stress induced rashes and personally stealing the hard earned money of every saintly tax payer in the UK. Happy New Year everyone xxx

7 Responses to “Happy New Year”

  1. differentlysane Says:

    It shouldn’t make me laugh – but it did. Leonard Cohen is awesome. And I think there are a number of positive there – and there was me thinking I was single handedly propping up the UK economic market 🙂 .

    Happy new year,
    Differently

  2. Madsadgirl Says:

    Quite a few positives there, not least the one about starting a blog and keeping at it. I think that it is one of the ways that those of us with mental health issues can get things out of our system and not hurt ourselves or anyone else. Okay, so some may take offence at what we say, but anyone who is in the same position as us understands where we are coming from and why we say the things that we do.

    Wishing you a good 2009, Bippi, and I hope that you continue to blog.

    MSG

  3. Lola Snow Says:

    Yea to us for a) staying off the train tracks and b) mocking the world from cyber space. Happy New Year to you Bip, lets make 2009 just as good (urrrh…better?) as 2008

    Lola x

  4. Alison Says:

    At least Pizza Hut won’t go bankrupt, me and you will keep it going for another 12 months 😉 …

    … and yes well done to the DWP!

  5. Lola Snow Says:

    This is a premature poke for a post, I think I am out of synch in my motivating – blame the Spanish, or Christmas. Did you see Mental Nurse have awarded you a TWIM award for Best Personality Disorder Blog? Congratulations, and if you track down the after party, then let me know!

    Lola x

  6. bippidee Says:

    yes i saw! I’m very chuffed lol. I will make sure to add it to my CV.

  7. Mental Nurse · This Week in Mentalists (61) Says:

    […] From the Sofa is also reflecting on 2008. I survived the year. I didn’t become another statistic. And that’s something that all of us who […]

Leave a Reply

